Catching Forty Winks (How to Get to Sleep)

In the past few weeks, I’ve repeated this advice to people on twitter who are having trouble sleeping, or more correctly, falling asleep.  Something is interfering with their ability to drift off to dreamland.  It could be any number of things, but what they need more than the free therapy I could offer is to, as one of my new favorite books suggests, “just go the f**k to sleep”.

It’s an old trick. It’s one we attempt to use on our children, and usually works wonders – on ourselves. Just climb into bed, close your eyes, and pretend to be asleep. Focus your mind on nothing but “I’m asleep”.  After a while your brain will start to believe that you are indeed asleep. Why? Because brains are gullible.  Because brains need to focus on the task at hand and if all you think about is being asleep, you will trick your brain into believing it to be true.

But it only works if you don’t let other thoughts intrude.

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and cat slave to two very demanding masters.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catching Forty Winks (How to Get to Sleep)

  1. Pat says:

    You -are- a good writer! You have a very straightforward approach which I love. The actual content I could relate to, definitely. Although I have two minor criticisms: Don’t censor swear words; they are just words. Fuck. It’s a word used to express yourself but you lose some of that punch if you trade it with asterisks. Second minor criticism: There was that ball shooting game thing as I scrolled down here to comment and it distracted me immensely. I actually had an addiction to a variant of that game a year or two back and it took all of my courage and willpower to ignore it and continue with my comment. Damn you.
    So, really, none of these criticisms are actually criticisms. If you have that Google IP address tracker product, you now know where I live, come say hi.

    Like

    • Julirose says:

      Sorry about the accidental censorship, but that part of the post should have been in quotes. The word is censored in the book title. As for the distracting game thingy, I have no idea how or why as I have not signed up for any ads or sponsorship of any kind on WordPress. It also doesn’t show up in IE when I view my posts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

