Maryjanes and Cow Manure

When I was about three or four years old, I came into possession of a pair of red patent leather Maryjane’s that I wore everywhere.  I probably wore them to bed; I was so in love with those shoes. One summer day, after a rain storm, I was out in the field playing with the aforementioned Ginger when to my horror a shoe suddenly vanished off my foot.  It had been sucked into the mire of the cow pasture lost in a mixture of mud and manure.  I wept for my lost shoe until another favorite pair came along.

Ten years later, when walking through that came cow pasture, I spotted a shiny red object sticking out of the dirt.  I picked it up and dusted it off to discover that is was my missing shoe!  Somehow it had come back to me.  Too bad I can’t say the same for the dog!

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Mental Scrapbook and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

