My Wild Life

the twins from my bedroom window

the twins from my bedroom window

My property should be designated a wildlife preserve considering what seems to be living  here.  So far this year I’ve been over run by rabbits and squirrels, with the occasional woodchuck thrown in.  Every year I contend with field mice trying to nest in my gas grill and chase off rabbits feasting in my yard when I mow the grass.  I have a family of chipmunks and a colony of bumble bees in my front walkway.

My house is a bird-watcher’s paradise.  Currently, I have robins, cardinals, mourning doves, and chickadees.  In the past I’ve had blue jays, hawks, crows and other odd species nesting in my trees.  Some of the birds are brave enough to perch on my deck rail to let me have a good look at them (or to torture my cat).

This year has seen the return of deer to my back yard.  In previous years I have seen an occasional doe or buck; one year an entire family showed up!  This summer it was a doe and her twins!

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Mental Scrapbook and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

