My Cornell Summer

After graduating from Wyoming Seminary (a prep school located in Kingston, PA), I managed to get accepted at Cornell University.  I was going to become an engineer, or so I thought.  It turned out to be tougher than I thought and sadly, I had no backup plan.  When things started to go badly, I attempted to transfer to the school of Art & Sciences.  This required summer school at the University to try and bring my GPA back up.

Housing in the summer was limited because the University runs several programs during the summer.  I found off campus housing at a local fraternity house that rented rooms out over the summer.  I was pretty much on my own for meals and had an electric frying pan in my room along with access to the refrigerator there.  Most of the summer was fairly routine except for a visit from a high school friend and an encounter with a young inventor.

I can’t remember his name, only that he had made his way into the pages of Time magazine for an audible cane for the blind that could detect curbs and steps.  He also had no idea how to feed himself.  He was subsisting on boiled hot dogs until I showed him that he could cook a whole meal in a frying pan.  That night we dined on fried chicken, fried potatoes and stir-fry vegetables.  I have no idea where he is now or if he even remembers me.  I am glad that I had the chance to teach him that cooking was about inventing too!

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Mental Scrapbook and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

