The Journey Not Taken

Sometime in my youth, I decided that I really wanted to become a writer.  I would write the best science fiction novel ever and join the ranks of Asimov, Bradbury and Clarke.  And I would try, repeatedly, over the years to churn out that novel.  One great idea after another would start to gel and be written only to peter out a few notebook pages in.  For example:

Bright blue warning lights cut through the red glow of the command deck.  A soft feminine voice repeated, “Collision warning. Object Detected.” while the crew hurried to their stations.

“Get a visual on that object,” Captain Joseph Seton demanded.

“I’m trying, Sir, but the computer can’t seem to get a lock on the object.”

“Is the sensor online?” Captain Seton turned to the still empty station.

“Give me a minute to interface,” a female voice replied as the sensor station became suddenly occupied.

I even had an idea for a post-apocalyptic book about demons and angels trying to survive on an Earth where humans no longer believed in them.

It isn’t easy when nobody believes in your existence.  Heaven and Hell (and their inhabitants) were losing their grips on the people of Earth.  Armageddon had come and gone and both sides had lost.

I began to suspect that maybe I just didn’t have it in me to become the next Hugo Award winner.  So I quit writing for a while.

And then I took it up again.  This time the genre was erotic literature. I received encouragement in this genre from the internet and ended up “publishing” some of my fiction on the web. For the curious, check out literotica.com and search for stories by Julirose.  I’m particularly proud of “Indecent Exposure” and “Fable”.

Despite being told how wonderful my stories were and how good a writer I was, I knew better.  The best I could manage might qualify as pulp fiction; my writing lacks grace and style.  I am terse, a miser with words; much the same as I am in conversation.  I seem to say as little as possible, expecting too much from the reader.  It is a fault that I am struggling to overcome.

And so here I am, blogging away and trying to open up to the reader.  Don’t be afraid to reread some of what I have written as I do go back and attempt to “pump it up”.  Don’t be afraid to comment.

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Mental Scrapbook and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Journey Not Taken

  1. Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

