Where’s Superman When You Need Him?

I remember watching television, back in the 1950’s, when The Adventures of Superman would show the Man of Steel rescuing kittens from trees when he wasn’t busy capturing the bad guys.  By the time the 1970’s rolled around, firemen had taken over the task of rescuing treed felines on television.  Today, it is very hard to find anyone who will go up there and bring down the cowering beast who is too afraid to climb down on its own.

I know this because my cat recently stranded himself on a high branch of a backyard pine tree.  I followed the advice given by experts on how to lure him down, but he wasn’t budging from his perch.  For the next three nights, he shivered in the cold wind.  He mewed for our help, but neither I nor my daughter was in any shape to climb up the tree and rescue him.

I called my veterinarian’s office for help. They referred me to a wildlife management expert, an animal trapper, who could only tell me on how to lure him down.  When I called back, he advised me to call in to a local radio station for help.  By then, I had discovered two possible avenues, a tree service that advertised that it rescued stranded cats and a website called catinatreerescue.com  that had a directory of people who could be contacted to help.

The man listed in the directory was not available to help, but he was kind enough to call around.  Within an hour of that first call an expert tree climber rang my doorbell.  Less than a half hour later, my cat was back safely in my house, hungry and reeking of pine tar.  During a visit to the vet’s office, he was given a clean bill of health and a bath.   He’s a little less pine fresh now!

http://www2.catinatreerescue.com/view/faq.cfm

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Mental Scrapbook and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

