Enough Candles to Set Fire to the Cake

My birthday is this month.  It’s not a holiday, but it should be.  Well, maybe not.  But who doesn’t feel that way about their birthday?

There will be no party.  I like it that way.  After a certain point you reach an age where there are enough candles to set fire to the cake.  That is the age to let go of the parties.

Besides, I have diabetes (type 2) which means that cake is bad for me.  And ice cream and cookies and everything else associated with birthdays.  Yes, even balloons could be hazardous to my health.

My birthdays were never much of a celebration.  Except for the private little victories (one year my birthday was the last day of school), I never had a birthday during the school year.  I always felt a little left out because of it.

I know people who celebrate every birthday, no matter how old they get.  I’m glad for them, sometimes even jealous of them.  The last party I attended was someone’s eightieth birthday.  It was more of a family reunion than a birthday party.

This year’s birthday isn’t a milestone.  I’ll be happy just to get through it without any disasters or fanfare.

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Holiday Ravings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

