I Dug A Hole

I live in the suburbs where mail delivery is by a box at the side of the road at the end of my long driveway.  In 1986, we placed a standard wooden post in the ground and mounted a generously sized mailbox to it.  Four years later, that post bit the dust as a pickup truck ran it down.

The mailbox survived.  My husband, determined not to have to replace the post so often, built a post of a larger size of pressure treated lumber that has lasted until recently.

Last year I had to replace the mailbox because the old one had literally cracked from weathering.  Late last month I noticed that the mailbox post was leaning.  The lean was a little more pronounced as the days passed.  I gently pushed against the post and it moved.  The base had rotted out and the post would need to be replaced.

I went to investigate my options.  I could buy a whole new mailbox with an integrated newspaper slot, but I would also need to buy a wooden post.  The other option was to buy a post for the current mailbox that was actually made for that mailbox.

I came home with the new mailbox post and a 50 lb bag of quick-set concrete.  I read all the necessary directions and set about digging the new hole for the new post.  I managed to dig half  of the hole in one morning before the weather turned too hot for me to continue working.  The next morning I was able to dig the hole to a proper depth.

Leveling the post was easy enough; I used the concrete mix to hold the box in place before wetting it.  After four hours, I had successfully transplanted the mailbox.  The newspaper tube would not be so lucky.  My husband had decided that it would not come loose ever.  He used about a dozen screws and some serious glue to attach it to the old post.  Fortunately, the newspaper customer service people were understanding and are sending me a new tube.

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Mental Scrapbook and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Dug A Hole

  1. This is a great piece. It is fascinating how different parts of the world are so different – you really give me a sense of place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

