Here I Go Again

Way back in 1975, back in the dark ages for you younglings, I was busy getting ready to head off to college for the first time.   Cornell University had accepted me as an engineering student.  I had pretty much no idea of what were my strengths and weaknesses, and I believed that I could handle anything.  I was wrong.

Depression was starting to take over my life and I would soon spiral down a path that led to failing out of Engineering and withdrawing from Cornell.  After spending some time licking my wounds, I started to take night classes at Wilkes College (now Wilkes University) in Computer Science.  I was really good at programming and did really well in my classes there.  But I didn’t think to enroll at the time.  I was going to get married; it seemed the better offer back then.  But is hindsight really 20/20?  There is no way to be certain that things would have been better if I had gone back to college at Wilkes.

During the two years that I lived in Delaware, I managed to take another computer science course at the University of Delaware.  Although I did well, it was still not enough for me to get the hint.  In 1980, I moved back to Pennsylvania.

Thirty years have passed between then and now.  I have crawled out of that long dark hole of depression to discover that I should have aimed lower than engineering to start.  It is too late now for me to pick up where I left off in computer science.  Educationally, I am a relic in that field.  I am still quite good with numbers; and a job I once held has taught me that I am not so easily bored by repetitive or detailed tasks.

I need a job in a field that involves boring repetitive detailed mathematical tasks and there appears to be a lot of them out there.  So, here I go again – back to school as an Accounting major at Northampton Community College.

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Mental Scrapbook and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

