My Coffee Brewing Assistant

I’m not sure where this goes.  It’s about my cat, Dean.  My cat who refuses to sit on anyones lap.  My cat who chases invisible mice about the house.  My cat who chases birds at night in my bed. (They aren’t real birds; it’s just a feathered cat teaser.)  My cat who will only eat food if it is in his bowl, although I think that is a good thing.

My cat is totally fascinated by the process of brewing coffee.  He will sit on his cat perch and watch me fold the filter.  He will stretch his neck to get a good view of the coffee grounds as I scoop out of the canister and dump them into the filter.  He stares in anticipation while I draw the water from the refrigerator dispenser and place the water tank into the coffeemaker.

He will sit and patiently wait for every last drop of coffee to pour out of the funnel into the pot.  Except when he’s hungry or needs to use his litter box, then he makes a quick trip of it.  If I’m not there when the coffee is ready, he will seek me out and come get me.  He will utter a little mew to call attention to himself and when that doesn’t work, he will resort to tapping on my calf.  If I ignore that, he escalates to both feet on my thigh and a much louder meow.

Why does he do this? I don’t know, he just does.

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Mental Scrapbook and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Coffee Brewing Assistant

  1. Shadow says:

    hahaha that is funny. All my cat does is sleep all day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

