I Suck At Fan Fiction

First, my daughter informs me, my idea of fan fiction isn’t what the internet expects. I try hard to avoid romantic entanglements in my fan-induced fantasies set in someone else’s world. My first forays into fan fantasy were stories about a Vulcan female in Star Fleet or a half-Romulan love child of Spock and a Romulan commander (you know who I mean). My early attempts to turn my idle fantasies into written word often ended in unfinished stories.

I had planned to attempt to write a modern piece, based on a current show that has sparked my imagination. I have a character. I have a story. But the details keep changing every time I drag out into view. I know what she is, but her relationship to the shows central character keeps changing. Is she his aunt or his grandmother? Does she save the day or just lend a helping hand?

A lot of the uncertainty is driven by how I feel on the day that I call forth my “episode” of the show. I find that I am too deeply connected to my characters. And I also have discovered that I am loath to share when I have a vested interest in the well-being of the character. Perhaps I should focus on the characters that I care the least about or dislike the most.

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Literary Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

