Murphy And I Are Old Friends

About last week…. I survived it.

My Monday class wasn’t so bad. It is only the fourth time that I have taken a course in Microsoft Word. I’ve covered versions 2003, 2007, and 2010. Now, I am “learning” 2013. Actually, I have learned a few tricks that I didn’t know already and the work isn’t hard.

My Tuesday started with me standing for about an hour and a half during Quad Fest. My feet were so sore by the time I arrived at my first class. I had trouble starting my laptop for the PowerPoint presentation that it was supposed to run. And the slide show had to be restarted once or twice – I wasn’t keeping track. The PALS (Paralegal) Club did manage to get ten people to sign up at our table. And none of our stuff blew away during any of the wind gusts!

My first class on Tuesday started with our professor informing us that the bookstore had ordered the wrong books. Gee, Murphy, nice of you to show up for one of my most important classes this semester. I was able to order the correct books before the end of the week, but one of them hasn’t arrived, yet.

My second class on Tuesday was Microsoft Outlook. I’ve never taken a formal class in Outlook, but I have used one version or another for at least 20 years. First lesson was a lot of busy work about Windows 8 and Office 360. I have no computer using Win 8. Currently, I use Windows 7 on my 17-inch and Windows 10 on my 13-inch. So, what was the name of that bar that you opened when you swiped left from the right edge of the screen or touched the upper right corner?

Wednesday was another class in Word. We finished the first chapter and were assigned homework that was due before the next class. Piece of cake!

Thursday, I still had the wrong book and still didn’t have the workbook for my Legal Research class. But we still covered the material, in a way. I’m confident that we will get to it.

Thursday night, I had my remaining law class. And there’s Murphy again! Chalk another one up for having the wrong book! But not having the book wasn’t a total disaster. the professor was interesting and fast-talking, but not in a “used car salesman” way.

Next week should be better, once Murphy has been kicked to the curb. Of course, there is always the possibility that Murphy will show up again. I’m not about to let him get me down.

I have learned that when things go wrong, the best thing to do is just get past it!

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Mental Scrapbook and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

