Distractions

The closer it gets to spring break, the more the panic sets in. Just preparing for the big event – the start of my internship with a lawyer – is stressful enough. I know who, what, when, where, and why – but it is that big step of actually communicating with this person that stymies, nay, terrifies me.

And there is everything else (the distractions).

Paralegal club – I still haven’t written that request to be on the Student Senate agenda to secure their approval for the changes made to the club by-laws. And I also need to prepare a slide show presentation to aid in making our case.

Estates and Trusts – The demands to draft documents are steady, fortunately. The temptation to drop is there, but I know I’d regret that decision. This is a distraction that I can live with.

Cats – Although I enjoy these perpetual toddlers, I still have to make arrangements to neuter the new guy before his increasing libido becomes a serious problem.

House –

  • A little over three weeks ago, my garage door opener failed at the same time that the spring broke on my garage door. The spring was replaced, but the failed door opener would need some investigation on my part. It turned out to be a broken sensor; fortunately, Amazon had a replacement. Replacement was delayed by a bitter cold spell last weekend, but the nice warm day yesterday was ideal.
  • Lights have become a problem as fluorescent fixtures are starting to fail. This is a distraction that can be temporarily ignored, unless the buzzing gets to me.
  • This list could go on forever.

It is quite obviously time to bite the bullet and kick the distractions to the curb.

For the slang impaired: it is time to focus on the priorities, face the tasks that I dread the most, and leave everything else for later.

 

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Mental Scrapbook and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

