An Open Letter To Attorneys Advertising Paralegal Positions

Dear Attorney:

I am applying for your advertised position. I realize that I do not have all the qualifications that you have listed in your advertisement. I do not have a four-year degree. What I do have is a two-year degree, not a certificate, from an accredited Community College in an American Bar Association approved program in Paralegal studies.

My fellow graduates and I worked hard for that degree, spending a minimum of two years to earn it. There were no easy A’s in this program. Out of the twenty-five (25) students in the Introduction to Paralegal Studies class, only twelve (12) graduate each semester. We who graduate are the ones who can do the work you need done. We have proven ourselves in the field, if only for one hundred (100) hours.

I also do not have the two to five years of experience that you ask for. Had I the experience, I would likely not be applying for your position because I would be quite comfortable in my current position. I am, after all, looking for a permanent place to work.

I know that you want an experienced paralegal because you believe that you will not have to train that person. You are mistaken; they have been trained, but not to do things your way. You will find yourself spending time explaining that you don’t care how their previous employer did things, that this is how you want things done. Hiring an entry-level paralegal will at least save you that headache.

Another savings that could come from hiring an entry-level paralegal would be financial. You could offer the trainee a lower salary to start. You would be getting work done and saving money at the same time.

I am a capable person. Although my first college pursuit didn’t work out, my recent college activity has been stellar. I was able to earn a cumulative GPA of 3.95/4.00. I am an apt student and you will find that I learn things rather quickly (as my internship supervisor will testify).

Give my former classmates and me a chance to prove our worth. You won’t regret it.

Sincerely,

Julia

About Julirose

Amateur word arranger, avid number cruncher, and science fiction and fantasy enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Mental Scrapbook and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

